23. A Tribute to Arne Nordheim

Arne Nordheim © Jan Erik OlsenScanpix Norway Click here to book online

Thursday 25 November

Phipps Hall 10pm,
Tickets £15 (£13 concession)

Arne Nordheim:
Partitia fur Paul
Listen inside outside

Eldbjørg Hemsing violin
Einar Steen Nøkleberg piano 
Mats Claesson electronics
Asbjørn Blokkum Flø electronics

A chance to reflect upon the achievements of Norway's leading contemporary composer, who died in June. The tribute is presented by NOTAM, the Norwegian center for technology in music and art, with Nordheim's engineer Mats Claesson as well as Asbjørn Blokkum Flø and includes works for violin and piano. The programme also features two electro-acoustic works from 1968 and 1970 - the crystalline Solitaire and Polypoly, six tape loops of varying lengths which would take 102 years to fully repeat.

Produced by hcmf// in association with the Norwegian center for technology in music and art (NOTAM); supported by Music Information Centre Norway and Norwegian Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Buy tickets from here.


No-one has commented yet.

Log in